Last week we lost a great friend and colleague.

Last week we lost a great friend and colleague.  Tim Sloate, UPCEA’s director of research, passed away most unexpectedly leaving behind his wife Hillary and daughters Lily and Rosemary.

All of us on UPCEA’s Board of Directors and the UPCEA officers had the great pleasure of working closely with Tim.  While not everyone associated with UPCEA had the opportunity to work with Tim, it is clear that he will be missed by our membership and by the members of our national office.

If you didn’t have the opportunity to know Tim well, I want to share with you some of the thoughts that the UPCEA Board members expresses after we received the announcement about Tim:

Like many of you, I have grown very fond of Tim and always enjoyed working with and/or having a beer with him. He was a good, smart, and kind man. I will miss him very much.


Tim had sent me an e-mail just yesterday afternoon.  I can’t find any words to express my sadness. Tim was such a great colleague and a friend whom I had gotten to know more over these past few years. This is a tremendous loss to all of us.

 

Like so many of you, words fail me.  I am stunned and so very sad.  Tim had such a vibrant and youthful spirit.  I was just thinking about my last conversation with him; he was so thoughtful and optimistic about the future.

 

Words cannot express my shock and sadness at this terrible news about our friend and colleague, Tim Sloate.  First and foremost, my sympathies and prayers go out to Tim’s family.  This is also a great loss for all of us who have worked so closely with Tim over the years. 

And, finally, from his colleagues in the National Office:

Tim was a dear friend and colleague. His tireless work ethic, positive attitude, and keen sense of humor will be greatly missed.

I am sure that everyone who knew Tim will join me in saying; Tim thank you for your friendship and colleagueship, thank you for your dedication to all that you did, and Tim we will miss you.

Jim

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

